MAY 18, 2009

Meeting called at 7:02 P.M. by Lee Swoboda.

Attendees: 28

The Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag followed.

Self introductions were next.

Board of Directors present: Lee Swoboda, Ralph Lartz, Kaye Massie, Jack Kimball, Margie Benson and Bruce Jackson.

Absent: Ken VanBuskirk, Randy Neatherlin, Jim Clark, Judy Scott and Jacquelyn Mastel.


The Draft Minutes for the April 20, 2009 meeting were read.

A Motion was made by Jack Kimball and second by Margie Benson to accept the minutes as read. The Motion passes unanimous by Voice Vote.

Treasurer's Report:

Jim Clark was absent and he sent a note stating we had $1129.33 in the checking account after all the bills were paid.

The Business Meeting was adjourned at 7:15 P.M.


Dave Tipton, the Manager of the Belfair Water System, provided information about the public/private partnership letter of intent with the Alliance for Cooperative Innovation to help build the Belfair Sewer System. AFCI is a not for profit Cooperative that helps develop and build community projects.

Mason County is currently managing the design and building of the Belfair Sewer System.

The Belfair Water System is authorized to be a Water and Sewer System manager per their Charter issued in 1966.

The fee for Belfair Sewer service has not been set yet because the overall cost of the project has not been determined.

There was a lot of discussion on this subject and we may need to have a Town Forum on this Project.

The May 26, 2009 County Commissioners Meeting at 2:00 P.M. in Shelton will have this issue on the agenda.

The Belfair Water system wants to charge the Fire District 2 $1500 a month to have their emergency radio antenna on their water tower.

The Fire District removed the antenna from the water tower. They were told they could leave it there for $200 a month and this issue is still in negotiation.


We next took a five minute break to have some of our annual meeting cake.

Next was the nomination of Officers for the board:

Linnie Griffin was nominated for the vacant position and voted in unanimous by voice vote.

Margie Benson, Judy Scott, Kaye Massie and Lee Swoboda agreed to stay on.

Ralph Lartz made a Motion to approve all the hold over members for the board by acquisition. Kaye Massie seconded the Motion. The Motion passes unanimous by voice vote.

Ken VanBuskirk sent a report on the Transportation Advisory Board and said they walked the Elfendahl Road project to understand the work required to restore the road.

Ken thinks it would not be affordable at this time.

Fire District 8 will meet with Fire District 2 on May 20, 2009 at the Tahuya Fire Hall.

The current contract District 8 has with District 2 for emergency services expires on June 30, 2009.

Beau Bakken reported that traffic has increased on all local roads since the Hood Canal Bridge closed. The bridge may be completed in 4 to 5 weeks instead of the original 6 week estimate.

He also said the Harrison Urgent Care Center is working good and is very busy.

9-1-1 is still the best bet for heart attacks and severe emergency needs.

Good of the Order

The Theler Center will have a parking lot sale on May 23, 2009 and a Mystery Dinner on June 6, 2009.

The NMCV will meet at 6:30 P.M. June 15, 2009 and will have dessert and a Trivia contest before the general meeting at 7:00 P.M.

A Motion to adjourn was made by Kaye Massie and second by Margie Benson. The Motion passes unanimous by voice vote.

Meeting adjourned at 8:21 P.M.

Bruce Jackson, Secretary. Approved by NMCV Board 6/15/2009.